Services

INNOVATIVE PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT
– MADE BY STERNWALD

Innovations are rarely accidental; they are rather the result of a company-controlled process. Whether you establish internal “think tanks” or let “scouts” explore the market is not decisive. The correct “processing” of the ideas and suggestions however, is crucial.

For this purpose, Sternwald has developed a highly flexible process that accompanies new business models and products in five PHASES:

Innovations are rarely accidental; they are rather the result of a company-controlled process. Whether you establish internal “think tanks” or let “scouts” explore the market is not decisive. The correct “processing” of the ideas and suggestions however, is crucial.

For this purpose, Sternwald has developed a highly flexible process that accompanies new business models and products in five PHASES:

    • THINK: Realize ideas, make implementation plausible
    • DESIGN: Create editorial/visual concept, design user interface
    • BUILD: Implement concept, test application
    • RUN: Put into operation, provide customer service
    • IMPROVE: Measure acceptance, optimize concept
    •  

    Various tools and techniques, such as design thinking, agile software development or lifecycle management, are incorporated within each phase in order to identify undesirable project development early on in the process and to allow for timely course corrections. The development results from each phase are tested as prototypes with real customers to accurately meet the needs of the target group.

    New business models, editorial concepts and designs are created by mixed teams of designers, developers and consultants. After the development process in a narrower sense (e.g. product, website for marketing), Sternwald supports the first steps of the new products in the market (e.g. search engine optimization), takes over operation and support upon request, and is also available if suggestions for product optimization should come from feedback in the market.

    The product development of a digital publication takes place in different STREAMS, which cover the partial aspects of product development:

The questions at the beginning of every project are: What do customers want? Can we fulfill these desires? If these questions are answered positively in alignment with your own assets and competencies, a business model that forms the basis for a concrete project is created. The decision for a brand at this early stage determines how the product fits into the framework of the corporate positioning.

  • Brand strategy / Development of a digital brand
  • Define appropriate content strategy

Digital products gain their distinctive design from the interplay of various media components: text, image, video and sound. Consequently, text editors, graphic designers and usability experts work closely together to provide customers with a unique media experience. A particular task of the team is to test the acceptance by means of the future target group at every stage of further implementation. Sternwald works according to the “user-centred design approach”:

  • User segmentations and personas
  • User journeys and user stories
  • Sitemaps, wireframes and functional specifications
  • Functional prototypes, as well as interactive design prototypes for user tests
  • Design mockups and screen designs
  • Style guides and documentations

Press publications traditionally derive their revenue from two main sources: reader-based sales, and advertising revenue. Digital publications today no longer find their users through classical advertising, but even the new communication channels on the internet are not “self-running” and require careful planning and implementation. TOP placements in the most important search engines are paramount. Sternwald finds the key concepts that bring your publication to the top – and thus into your target group’s field of vision. This preliminary work is also what convinces advertising customers to use your product as a medium. In addition to the search engines as our “duty”, we also master the “freestyle” and design attractive advertising formats for your customers and smart joint campaigns, which carry the messages of your advertising partners to affluent recipients.

  • Search engines: Analyze search algorithms, position relevant search terms
  • Self-promotion: Place digital forms of advertising, design microsites for marketing activities, book Facebook instant articles
  • Guerilla marketing: Create original campaigns, manage performance
  • PR: News positioning, use press contacts
  • Sold ads: Define attractive advertising placements, integrate Google AdWords
  • Sales partners: Select suitable partners, provide advertising data
  • Collaboration: Cooperate with suitable partners, seek sponsorship

From a technical perspective, new digital publications are similar to many other IT projects. They differ in the requirement to consider the “customer” factor in a particularly flexible way. Multiple user tests and iteration loops take the place of a straightforward implementation according to specification; cooperation with creative- and usability experts ensures regular concept readjustment. Sternwald’s mixed teams replace by-the-book processing with agile concepts of continuous review and improvement – your readers get a chance to speak early on!

Software Development

  • Feasibility analyses
  • Evaluation of operating environments
  • Use case definitions
  • Business process design, business logic
  • Software architecture
  • Collection / storage / management of digital assets
  • Interface integrations
  • ERP systems / product management
  • CRM systems (e.g. salesforce, intercom)
  • Review and optimization of system architecture
  • Performance consulting (high performance / high volume traffic)

Test and security

  • Automated quality assurance
  • Consultation on security concepts

Operation

  • Hosting consultation
  • System support / operation
  • DevOps
  • 24/7 support

Special solutions

Digital assets, gathered and managed in huGO, can be integrated into a wide range of products that enable the exploitation of the market opportunities provided by the new technologies. We not only prepare you for these publications, but also actively support you in the marketing and the generation of follow-up business.

  • e-paper development
  • App development
  • Payment solutions for digital products
  • Shop solutions for merchandising offers / additional assortments
  • Content and user analytics
  • Marketing automation

SAP Services

Our team in Düsseldorf specializes in the introduction, integration and operation of SAP for Media with the complete product portfolio for the media industry.

These include industry-specific applications such as advertisement management with the ad editor, the sale of media products through subscriptions and retail as well as product development and rights management.

  • SAP IS-M/AM: Advertisement management
  • SAP IS-M/SD: Subscription sales
  • SAP FI, SAP CO, SAP SD

The days when digital products were merely a hopeful venture, free from pressure to make money, are long gone. However, powerful controlling tools are used not only to monitor public acceptance shortly after market entry, but also to provide the vital sensorium for successful products in the long run, in order to be able to promptly discover and react to changes in consumer behavior. Experts at Sternwald develop concise report forms for you with which you can perfectly monitor and control the market performance of your products.

  • Collect circulation / user figures
  • Revenue and transaction costs
  • Click-rate analysis
  • Track reader behavior, optimize editorial concepts
  • Record usage history, improve usability

Project management is often caught up in the conflict between creative freedom and pre-defined budgets. Here, a professional and methodical project management with flair is required. The Sternwald methodology helps to master this area of conflict:

  • Set up multi-functional teams
  • Plan project in phases and streams
  • Prepare workflows for teams
  • Obtain and keep reports
  • Commission and process tests for interim results
  • At the end of each phase obtain approval for the next phase
  • Ensure quality of the final results
  • Monitor budgets and time plans

The project managers at Sternwald understand their trade and know exactly how to create attractive and eye-catching products from the budgets at hand: Best value for your money!

SERvices


Innovative Produktentwicklung – made by Sternwald

Innovationen entstehen nur selten zufällig; sie sind vielmehr das Ergebnis eines vom Unternehmen gesteuerten Prozesses. Ob man nun intern “Think Tanks” einrichtet oder “Scouts” den Markt erkunden lässt, ist nicht entscheidend, die richtige “Weiterverarbeitung” der Ideen und Anregungen jedoch sehr wohl.

Sternwald hat dafür einen hochflexiblen Prozess entwickelt, der neue Geschäftsmodelle und Produkte in fünf PHASEN begleitet:

 
  • THINK: Ideen konkretisieren, Umsetzbarkeit plausibilisieren
  • DESIGN: Redaktionelles / visuelles Konzept formulieren, User Interface gestalten
  • BUILD: Konzept realisieren, Anwendung testen
  • RUN: In Betrieb nehmen, Kunden-Service bereithalten
  • IMPROVE: Akzeptanz messen, Konzept optimieren

Innerhalb jeder PHASE kommen Tools und Techniken zum Einsatz (z. B. Design Thinking, Agile Software Development oder Lifecycle Management), die frühzeitig Fehlentwicklungen erkennbar machen und Kurskorrekturen ermöglichen. In allen PHASEN werden die Ergebnisse der Entwicklung als Prototypen mit echten Kunden getestet, um treffsicher die Wünsche der Zielgruppe zu bedienen.

Die neuen Geschäftsmodelle, Redaktionskonzepte und Designs entstehen in gemischten Teams aus Designern, Entwicklern und Consultants. Nach dem Entwicklungsprozess im engeren Sinne (z. B. Produkt, Website zur Vermarktung) unterstützt Sternwald die ersten Schritte der neuen Produkte im Markt (z. B. Suchmaschinen-Optimierung), übernimmt auf Wunsch Betrieb und Support und ist auch zur Stelle, wenn aus der Resonanz im Markt Anregungen für Optimierungen des Produkts gewonnen werden sollen.

Die Produktentwicklung einer digitalen Publikation erfolgt in verschiedenen STREAMS, welche die Teilaspekte der Produktentwicklung abdecken:


  • Connector.

    Branding, Geschäftsmodell und Marke

    Am Anfang aller Projekte stehen die Fragen: Was wollen die Kunden? Können wir Ihnen diese Wünsche erfüllen? Wenn diese Fragen im Abgleich mit den eigenen Assets und Kompetenzen positiv beantwortet werden, entsteht sich daraus ein Geschäftsmodell, das die Grundlage für ein konkretes Projekt schafft. Die Entscheidung für eine Marke legt bereits in diesem frühen Stadium fest, wie sich das Produkt in den Rahmen der Unternehmenspositionierung einfügt.

    • Markenstrategie / Digitalmarke entwickeln
    • Geeignete Content Strategie definieren

  • Connector.

    Produktgestaltung

    Ihre unverwechselbare Gestalt gewinnen digitale Produkte aus dem Zusammenspiel der verschiedenen medialen Komponenten: Text, Bild, Video und Sound. Folglich arbeiten Text-Redakteure, Grafik-Designer und Usability-Experten eng zusammen, um den Kunden ein einmaliges Medienerlebnis zu vermitteln. Eine besondere Aufgabe des Teams liegt darin, in jeder Phase der weiteren Umsetzung die Akzeptanz durch die künftige Zielgruppe immer wieder zu verproben. Sternwald arbeitet nach dem “User Centered Design Ansatz”:

    • User Segmentations und Personas
    • User Journeys und User Stories
    • Sitemaps, Wireframes und funktionale Spezifikationen
    • Funktionale Prototypen sowie interaktive Design-Prototypen für User Tests
    • Design-Mockups und Screendesigns
    • Styleguides und Dokumentationen

  • Connector.

    Vermarktung und Vertrieb

    Pressepublikationen beziehen ihre Erlöse traditionell aus zwei Hauptquellen: Umsätze mit Lesern und Werbeeinnahmen.Digitale Publikationen finden ihre Nutzer heute nicht mehr einfach über klassische Werbung, doch auch die neuen Kommunikationswege im Internet sind keine “Selbstläufer” und verlangen sorgfältige Planung und Umsetzung. TOP-Platzierungen in den wichtigsten Suchmaschinen stehen dabei an vorderster Stelle. Sternwald findet die Schlüsselbegriffe, die Ihre Publikation an die Spitze – und damit in das Blickfeld Ihrer Zielgruppe – bringen. Diese Vorarbeiten sind es auch, die die Werbekunden überzeugen, Ihr neues Produkt als Medium zu nutzen. Neben den Suchmaschinen als “Pflicht” beherrschen wir auch die “Kür” und konzipieren für Sie attraktive Werbeformate für Ihre Kunden und pfiffige Gemeinschaftsaktionen, die die Botschaften Ihrer Werbepartner zu den kaufkräftigen Empfängern tragen.

    • Suchmaschinen: Suchalgorithmen analysieren, relevante Suchbegriffe platzieren
    • Eigenwerbung: Digitale Werbeformen schalten, Microsites für Aktionen konzipieren, Facebook Instant Articles buchen
    • Guerilla Marketing: Originelle Aktionen kreieren, Durchführung administrieren
    • PR: News platzieren, Pressekontakte nutzen
    • Verkaufte Werbung: Attraktive Werbeplätze definieren, Google AdWords integrieren
    • Vertriebspartner: Geeignete Partner auswählen, Werbedaten bereitstellen
    • Verbundaktionen: Mit passenden Partnern kooperieren, Sponsoring positionieren

  • Connector.

    Technologie

    Neue digitale Publikationen gleichen aus technischer Sicht vielen anderen IT-Projekten. Sie unterscheiden sich davon jedoch in der Anforderung, den Faktor “Kunde” in besonders flexibler Weise zu berücksichtigen. Mehrfache Anwender-Tests und Iterationsschleifen treten an die Stelle einer geradlinigen Realisierung nach Pflichtenheft; die Kooperation mit Kreativen und Usability-Experten sorgt für regelmäßige Nachjustierungen der Konzepte.Die gemischten Teams von Sternwald ersetzen “Abarbeitung nach Schema F” durch agile Konzepte der kontinuierlichen Überprüfung und Verbesserung – Ihre Leser kommen frühzeitig zu Wort!

    Software-Entwicklung

    • Machbarkeitsanalysen
    • Evaluierung von Betriebsumgebungen
    • Use Case-Definitionen
    • Business Process Design, Business Logic
    • Software-Architektur
    • Erfassung / Speicherung / Verwaltung digitaler Assets
    • Schnittstellen-Integrationen
    • ERP-Systeme / Warenwirtschaft
    • CRM-Systeme (z. B. SALES FORCE, intercom)
    • Überprüfung und Optimierung der Systemarchitektur
    • Performanceberatung (High Performance / High Volume Traffic)

    Test und Sicherheit

    • Automatisierte Qualitätssicherung
    • Beratung zu Sicherheitskonzepten

    Betrieb

    • Hosting-Beratung
    • System-Betreuung / Betrieb
    • DevOps
    • Support 24/7

    Spezial-Lösungen

    Digitale Assets, die in huGO erfasst und verwaltet werden, können in vielfältige Produkte einfließen, mit denen sich die Marktchancen der neuen Technologien ausschöpfen lassen. Wir machen Sie nicht nur fit für die Herausgabe dieser Publikationen, sondern unterstützen Sie auch aktiv bei der Vermarktung und der Generierung von Folgegeschäften.

    • ePaper-Entwicklung
    • App-Entwicklung
    • Bezahllösungen für digitale Produkte
    • Shop-Lösungen für Merchandising-Angebote / Zusatzsortimente
    • Content und User Analytics
    • Marketing Automation

    SAP Services

    Unser Team in Düsseldorf hat sich auf die Integration, Einführung und den Betrieb von SAP for Media mit dem kompletten Produkt-Portfolio für die Medienbranche spezialisiert.

    Dazu zählen branchenspezifische Anwendungen wie das Anzeigenmanagement mit dem Anzeigeneditor, der Vertrieb von Medienprodukten über Abonnements und Einzelverkauf sowie Produktentwicklung und Rechteverwaltung.

    • SAP IS-M/AM: Anzeigenmanagement
    • SAP IS-M/SD: Abonnementvertrieb
    • SAP FI, SAP CO, SAP SD

  • Connector.

    Finanzen / Controlling

    Die Zeiten, wo digitale Produkte als “Hoffnungswerte” vom Zwang, Geld zu verdienen, befreit waren, sind lange vorbei. Aussagekräftige Controlling-Tools dienen aber nicht nur dazu, kurz nach dem Markteintritt die Akzeptanz beim Publikum zu verfolgen, sondern liefern auch für erfolgreiche Produkte auf längere Sicht das überlebenswichtige Sensorium, um Veränderungen im Verbraucherverhalten zeitnah entdecken und darauf reagieren zu können. Die Experten von Sternwald entwickeln für Sie die prägnante Berichtsformate, mit denen Sie die Markt-Performance Ihrer Produkte perfekt überwachen und steuern können.

    • Auflagen- / Nutzerzahlen erheben
    • Erlöse und Transaktionskosten erfassen
    • Klick-Raten auswerten
    • Leseverhalten verfolgen, Redaktionskonzepte optimieren
    • Nutzungsverläufe aufzeichen, Usability verbessern

  • Connector.

    Projektmanagement

    Das Projektmanagement steht häufig im Spannungsfeld zwischen kreativen Freiräumen und vordefinierten Budgets. Hier ist eine fachliche und methodische Projektleitung mit Fingerspitzengefühl gefordert. Die Sternwald Methodik hilft, dieses Spannungsfeld optimal zu meistern:

    • Multifunktionale Teams einrichten
    • Projekt in Phasen und Streams aufplanen
    • Arbeitspläne für Teams erstellen
    • Protokolle einholen und nachhalten
    • Tests für Zwischenergebnisse beauftragen und abwickeln
    • Zum Phasenabschluss Freigaben für die Folgephase einholen
    • Qualität der Endergebnisse sicherstellen
    • Budgets und Zeitpläne überwachen

    Die Projektleiter von Sternwald verstehen ihr Handwerk und wissen genau, wie man aus den verfügbaren Budgets attraktive und aufmerksamkeitsstarke Produkte schafft: Best value for your money!